Mini Book Reviews #8

mini book reviews 8

Hey guys!

Hope you’re all having a good weekend! 2018 is really flying by – can you believe it’s already September?! Seems like 2017 was only a few days ago! This summer hasn’t been too great in some aspects, but in terms of reading, I’ve done pretty well (considering how busy the last few months have been). Since June I’ve read a number of books, mostly in the YA and chick-lit genres. The ones that stood out the most are The Regulars, Love & Gelato, Love, Lucy and The Hate U Give. Read on for my mini reviews of these 4 books.

1. The Regulars 

mini book reviews 8

After hearing countless bloggers praising The Regulars, I instantly added this book to my TBR list. For those of you who have yet to read The Regulars, it focuses on a group of young women who are eager to be more confident and attractive, and one day they find a way to make this possible…unfortunately, Evie, Krista and Willow don’t take into consideration the consequences…

Although The Regulars has a silly premise, I still enjoyed it. The characters are fairly likeable, albeit frustrating at times, and the chapters are fairly short, making this a quick read. I also liked the way in which Georgia Clarke portrayed Brooklyn and celebrity culture, as well as society’s perception of beauty. If you’re a fan of books like Gossip Girl and Uglies, I’m sure you’ll love The Regulars too.

2. Love & Gelato 

mini book reviews 8

Love & Gelato is the perfect summer read. It’s captivating and is set in Florence, one of the most romantic cities in the world. While Love & Gelato is mostly positive, it does have some sad moments, but don’t let that put you off. The story centres on a teenage girl called Lina who has recently lost of mother and is sent all the way across the Atlantic to live with a man she’s never met. Although reluctant at first, especially since she has to live in a cemetery (!), Lina soon settles into her new home and uncovers some of her mother’s secrets, with the help of her new friend Ren and a diary.

While Love & Gelato is a decent book, I did find the lack of communication between Lina and Ren quite irritating. I wish they’d just be honest with each other! Nevertheless, I did like the description of Florence and Lina was such a strong character.

3. Love, Lucy 

mini book reviews 8

As with Love & Gelato, Love, Lucy is set in Florence. It follows a girl called Lucy who is backpacking in Europe and meets a guy called Jesse while she is staying in Italy. The pair have a whirlwind romance in Florence, but Lucy soon has to return to the US…the book then forwards to Lucy’s first semester of college, trying to move on with her life and put the summer behind.

Love, Lucy is a fun coming of age novel that will appeal to fans of Gayle Forman, Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins. The writing is vivid and will make you feel like you are in Florence and Rome. The romance is sweet and not like the typical insta-love you usually get in YA books. However, it was unrealistic in parts. While I could see why Lucy was attracted to Jesse, he wasn’t as great as she thought. I also didn’t like how Lucy ditched Charlene for a guy she barely know, even though Charlene wasn’t being much of a good friend either. And Lucy, although likeable, was too indecisive and eager to please her father, instead of standing up to him.

Love, Lucy reminded me a lot of Just One Day, but in a good way. I loved the adventure, romance and characterisation. I’ve never read A Room With a View (the book Love, Lucy is based on) or watched Roman Holiday (the film that draws Lucy to Italy), but I will definitely check them out.

4. The Hate U Give 

mini book reviews 8

The Hate U Give is undoubtedly one of the best YA books of recent years. It’s a compelling book that deals with injustice, race, family, gang violence and community in contemporary America. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, The Hate U Give focuses on a teenage girl called Starr who is the sole witness to the shooting of her childhood friend Khalil. Starr tries to be a normal teenager and fit in at her school, which is predominantly upper class, but her race and background make this difficult, especially after the shooting. Starr is devastated by this tragedy and is eager to speak out about it, despite how dangerous it is and the effect it will have on her peers’ opinions of her.

I wholeheartedly recommend The Hate U Give. Angie Thomas has written a relevant novel that everyone should read, regardless of their age or race. The Hate U Give is powerful, eye-opening, realistic and heartbreaking with a relatable protagonist who you will root for right from the beginning.

*

What are you reading at the moment? Have you read any of the books I have reviewed in this post?

Serena

2 Comment

  1. God I so desperately need to read The Hate U Give, I’ve heard NOTHING but amazing things about it! Great reviews, I love the mini review format 🙂 xxx

    1. Serena says: Reply

      It’s such a great book, hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply