The Sound Book Review

Hey guys!

How are you all? Got anything nice planned for the weekend? I’m going to see Wonder Woman tomorrow with my friend and we’ll probably have a picnic first (cross fingers it’s sunny!). Today’s post is a review on the book I read last week: The Sound by Sarah Alderson. Enjoy!

*

the sound sarah aldersonThe Sound by Sarah Alderson

Pages: 310

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK *

 

When aspiring music journalist Ren Kingston takes a job nannying for a wealthy family on the exclusive island of Nantucket, playground for Boston’s elite, she’s hoping for a low-key summer reading books and blogging about bands. Boys are firmly off the agenda.

What she doesn’t count on is falling in with a bunch of party-loving private school kids who are hiding some dark secrets, falling (possibly) in love with the local bad boy, and falling out with a dangerous serial killer…

*

My Thoughts

The Sound follows a 17-year-old girl called Ren who travels to Nantucket for the summer after getting a job as a nanny for a wealthy family. All Ren wants to do is look after the children and try to mend her broken heart, but then she befriends some of the teens who are staying in Nantucket with their families and things don’t really go to plan. Ren is relieved to have other people her own age to hang out with…until she strikes up a friendship with local bad boy Jesse Miller and finds out that there is a nanny killer on the lose…

The Sound is an enjoyable summer read that is perfect for by the pool. Although the book starts off quite slow, the suspense does build up towards the end and it’s much more than your average YA novel. Everyone is a suspect at some point. I felt my heart racing in the final chapter. The twist is quite shocking and not what I expected at all. Ren is also a likeable character, and it’s easy to relate to her since she’s British and a blogger too. And Jesse is such a swoonworthy love interest – he definitely does seem like a combination of Damon from The Vampire Diaries and Alex from Perfect Chemistry.

However, that’s not to say that The Sound doesn’t have it’s faults. The book is littered with clichés and slut-shaming, and it does get a bit predictable at times. Ren also makes some stupid decisions, putting her life in danger, and it seemed like there wasn’t any need for a nanny in the first place: the family hired babysitters fairly often, the oldest kid was at camp all day, and Ren was allowed to go out whenever she pleased.

Nevertheless, The Sound is the perfect blend of mystery and romance for fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars. It’s exciting, engaging, and will keep you guessing until the very end.

*

What are you reading at the moment? I’ve just started The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks and I’m enjoying it so far!

*

Serena

Leave a Reply