Upcoming Book Releases

Hey fellow bookworms!

This post will feature about some of the upcoming books to look out for this Autumn. I’ve included a mixture of celebrity books, YA and contemporary.

 

1. Stealing Snow – Danielle Paige

stealing-snow-danielle-paige
Goodreads

Release Date: 20th September

17-year-old Snow is stuck inside the Whittaker Institute, with no memory of how she got there. When a mysterious man turns up, Snow realises that this is her only chance to escape. She finds herself in Agid, an icy land full of witches and thieves. Here Snow finds out about her past and must decide what her fate is going to be.

2. Holding Up the Universe – Jennifer Niven

holding-up-the-universe-jennifer-niven
Waterstones

Release Date: 4th October

Holding Up the Universe focuses on Libby Strout, who was once known as ‘America’s Fattest Teen’. After her mother’s death, Libby has to deal with comforting her father and starting high school. She encounters Jack Masselin, who is unable to recognise the people close to him. Holding Up the Universe will be enjoyed by fans of All the Bright Places and Everything, Everything.

3. Replica – Lauren Oliver

replica-lauren-oliver
Lauren Oliver Books

Release Date: 4th October

Replica has been described as “an epic, masterful novel that explores issues of individuality, identity, and humanity.” It is a ‘flip book’, with one side from Lyra’s point of view, and the other from Gemma’s point of view. Having been in and out of hospital since she was a baby, Gemma is all too familiar with hospitals. She finds out that her father is connected to Haven, a top secret research facility. It  is also where Lyra – a.k.a ‘number 24’ – lives. Gemma helps Lyra escape and they both try to find out more about Haven.

4. Bloom: Navigating Life and Style – Estee Ladonde

bloom-estee-ladonde
Amazon

Release Date: 6th October

YouTubers seem to be releasing new books every week – and now Bloggers have joined in too. Estee Ladonde is a Canadian Blogger, known for her beauty and lifestyle vlogs. As stated on Amazon, “Bloom is about discovering who you are and how you interpret that through the lifestyle choices you make.”

5. We Were On A Break – Lindsay Kelk

we-were-on-a-break-lindsay-kelk
Harper Collins

Release Date: 6th October

From bestselling chick-lit author Lindsay Kelk comes a hilarious, romantic novel about a couple who aren’t entirely sure whether they are on a break or not. Follow Liv and Adam as they decide what they really want. We Were On A Break is perfect for fans of the ‘I Heart’ series and books by Sophie Kinsella.

6. Small Great Things – Jodi Picoult

small-great-things-jodi-picoult
Jodi Picoult

Release Date:  11th October

Small Great Things is an intriguing novel about racism and prejudice in contemporary America. It focuses on Ruth Jefferson, an experienced nurse who works at a hospital in Connecticut. She encounters a couple who are reluctant to let her deliver their newborn child since she is African American. However, after an incident, Ruth is forced to choose between intervening and risking the baby’s life.

7. Where Am I Now? – Mara Wilson

where-am-i-now-mara-wilson
Paste Magazine

Release Date: 13th October

Mara Wilson has been a little off the radar since Matilda hit our screens 20 years ago. However, she is now back with her first book. Where Am I Now? is a chronicle of Mara Wilson’s childhood and focuses on how she dealt with fame at such a young age.

8. The Sun Is Also A Star – Nicola Yoon

the-sun-is-also-a-star-nicola-yoon
Nicola Yoon

Release Date: 1st November

If you enjoyed Everything Everything, you’ll be pleased to hear that Nicola Yoon has written another book, The Sun Is Also A Star. In this book, teenagers Natasha and Daniel fall in love after a chance encounter in New York. Neither of them was expecting this to happen: Natasha is close to being deported to Jamaica and doesn’t believe in fate or destiny, while Daniel is a top student, determined to live up to his parents’ high expectations.

9. Scrappy Little Nobody – Anna Kendrick

anna-kendrick-book
Scrappy Little Nobody

Release Date: 15th November

Actress Anna Kendrick (from Twilight and Pitch Perfect) has published her first book, which features a handful of humorous autobiographical essays. It explores Anna’s rise to fame and her middle class upbringing in New England.

10. The Boy Is Back – Meg Cabot

the-boy-is-back-meg-cabot
Goodreads

Release Date: 17th November

Fans of The Princess Diaries rejoice as Meg Cabot is releasing a new book this November. The Boy Is Back is the fourth book in the popular ‘Boys‘ series. After a scandal, pro-golfer Reed Stewart returns home to the past he was trying hard to leave behind. Reed tries to avoid his first love Becky Flowers, but unfortunately fate brings them together again.

11. Girl Online: Going Solo – Zoe Sugg

girl-online-going-solo--zoe-sugg
W H Smith Blog

Release date: 22nd November

Girl Online: Going Solo is the third book in Zoe Sugg’s Girl Online series. Penny has to face starting the new school year on her own, without her boyfriend Noah. While Penny is stuck going to classes, Noah has completely disappeared. Fortunately, Penny receives an invite to visit a friend’s performing arts school and jumps at the opportunity to make some new friends. Will Scottish boy Callum help Penny move on from Noah?

12. Talking As Fast As I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between – Lauren Graham                                          

talking-as-fast-as-I-can-Lauren-Graham
Gilmore News

Release Date: 29th November

Lauren Graham plays Lorelai in the hit TV show Gilmore Girls. She published a fiction book a couple of years ago, but now she’s decided to write an autobiography. This book centres on Lauren’s life in Hollywood and how she found working on Gilmore Girls. As stated on Amazon, “Intimate, hilarious, and down-to earth, Talking As Fast As I Can is perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling, Amy Poehler and Amy Schumer.”

 

So these are just some of the many books that are hitting the shelves this Autumn! Let me know if you read any of them!

 

Serena

1 Comment

  1. I'm so excited for Lauren Graham's book! 🙂 I like the cover she ended up choosing. 🙂 XO -Alexandra

    Simply Alexandra: My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply to Simply Alexandra // My Favorite Things Cancel reply